This will be short and sweet I promise and is a little self-indulgent. However it really isn’t about me – however it is about she who must be obeyed, my better half, the lesser sighted tweeter @sueyyyyy

She gets a lot of grief from me – generally – after all it is my remit being an ironman in training to be tired and grumpy come 8 every night.

However she has risen above this, done weekly food plans, been supportive  and conquered her own fears along the way. Last year mastering swimming, by taking lessons. This year running and the effect of running.

 SWEAT.

Recently this has cumulated in running outside, on her own after the school run. This has since developed into a little running club of a couple of other mums all going for a run together.

Given its been shocking weather this makes me even more proud that she has now been completing regular 5k’s by herself before going back out to run with the other yummy mummy wannabes.

As a way of me praising her and giving her additional motivation – well that’s how I sold it – I booked her into doing the sport relief track 5k at the end of March. Everyone needs a goal and all that. The way she is going at the moment she will be sub 9min miles by then. 

I am proud of the fact I can run a 10k in 43 ish minutes, I am proud of finishing an Olympic distance triathlon in under 2:25 but all of the above makes me even prouder.

Plus I have to be nice to her, as if she keeps going like she is I won’t be able to keep up with her soon.

Now for the little surprise for her – assuming she reads this – we have a night away arranged in Shrewsbury to watch Chris Ramsey, a hotel and a night of hopefully drunken stupidity. She knows all that already.

Now Shrewsbury has many things, which Wrexham doesn’t.

Lots of water, lots of cute little shops and also a Parkrun.

Myself and sue don’t get the chance to run together – ever. Work, commitments and child care get in the way. So what better way to change this and for us both to run together, than at a Parkrun.

So assuming she doesn’t kill me for already signing us both up – we will be breaking are Parkrun virginity’s on the 8th feb.

 

 

Leave a Reply

